Life lines intertwined

Life lines intertwined

She’s barricaded her heart, it’s wall solid steel,
I had claimed to get that past, and her love to successfully steal,
Analyzing her like abstract art, I proceeded for the kill,
Her façade gradually fell apart, the vulnerability out to reveal,
She was just a conquest at the start, one I’d abandon never to heal.

But as I retreated my footsteps faltered, an unseen force stringing, pulling me,
Gazing at her humming self I felt my world alter, her soft whispers lulling me,
She met my gaze silently – never was much of a talker, her empty orbs shuttling in me,
Dismissing the thought of being a vaulter, the broken sight of her killing me,
I stayed. To spare her heart or mine, I still wonder?
Or did our life lines at some point intertwine?

Leave a comment